Prospect House has long been an icon for Heritage Boutique Accommodation in Australia. It offers 21st century service second to none, with an 1830's old world ambiance.
The fine dining restaurant has received world wide acclaim with a consistent delivery of fresh Tasmanian produce served to an international standard with friendly service.
The classic Georgian House sits off the road on the approach to Historic Richmond, a unique Georgian Village which boasts the oldest Roman Catholic Church and the oldest Bridge in Australia. It also has the Old Richmond Gaol (Older than Port Arthur itself), a maze, the Old Hobart Town Model Village, Antique and Craft Stores, Wineries and wonderful early 1800's architecture. The Richmond Wine Centre offers local wines and the assortment of tea rooms serve English style Devonshire Teas.
Underneath the main house is the old gaol, home to 22 convicts in the 1830's and now used as a wine cellar.
The grassed courtyard behind the main house is a relaxing spot to eat lunch or relax after a game of tennis on the house court.
Guests are encouraged to ask staff about the history of Prospect House or any aspect they find of interest.
A few interesting facts about Prospect House:-
Built in 1830 for James Kestell Buscombe.
Purchased in 1990 by Michael Kestell Buscombe and his wife Shauna.
Twenty-Two convicts assisted with the building and lived in the cellars beneath the house.
The cobblestones on the floors of the stables are more than 165 years old.
Prospect House was originally known as Prospect Villa and was evidently the site of the first vineyard in Australia.
Prospect House is classified by the National Trust of Australia.
The restaurant was opened in 1974.
The 10 accommodation units were built into the original barns and haylofts in 1981.
The family "Cottage" was built into the original servant's quarters and coach house in 1989.
The house room was opened in 1996 along with the guest lounge and boardroom.
Reception is the original house kitchen with dual ovens, bread oven and even a plate warmer.
James Buscombe owned 18 other properties in and around Richmond.
James and his wife Elizabeth along with James' parents John and Martha, are buried in the Richmond Anglican cemetery in a large underground crypt. For those interested, there are photographs of the crypt in reception.
The main house contains three dining rooms on the ground floor and the hotel reception in the old 1800's kitchen. This still contains the original wood fired stove and bread oven. Upstairs is an inviting guest lounge with books, magazines and board games, guest internet and email facility, a boardroom and one guestroom.
The balance of the accommodation is contained in the Servant's Quarters in the west wing of the House and in the converted Barns and Haylofts, the east and north wings. Each room has the old world atmosphere of antique furnishings but with all modern conveniences expected by today's discerning traveller.